My [newest] Pet Peeve

I have a new pet peeve. It might not seem like a big deal to anyone else, but to me, my new pet peeve means something. For those of you who don’t know, I am a social work major and in thirty-three days I will be a social worker! Right now, I am in the middle of my MSW. We are studying the DSM and all sorts of “disorders” and “mental illnesses”. The problem I have with all of this new information is the labeling. I hate when clients are labeled “autistic” or “schizophrenic”. It has so much meaning and negative connotation. It makes that person an illness and not a person. Instead of autism being part of the person, the autism is the person. Unacceptable. So please, please don’t do this around me or just be ready for me to say something to you. Thanks.

3 thoughts on “My [newest] Pet Peeve

  1. we talked about this at the beginning of the semester in Human Development. you are suppose to use “person first” language. so instead of “an autistic person” it’s supposed to be “a person with autism”. so i agree with you.

Leave a Reply

