Enter Title Here

I am always tired lately. Turns out it is hard work growing a child. If you follow my other blog about my son, you will know that, in recent weeks, we’ve had a lot of new news on his development. Each time I get a new piece of information, the staff is always surprised at how I react. Generally, I just nod my head and ask a few questions. I think they expect a hysterical break down. First that is just not my personality. Second, when we were diagnosed with HLHS in Chicago and I did cry as I found out, the doctor did not react well to the situation. Third, and probably most important, I am just too tired to react the way people expect me to react. It is a lot of work to show emotions. I am generally a stoic person. I handle crisis well. I do not share a lot of my personal feelings with the world (writing about how I react is different then reacting in front of people).  So usually Matt ends up with a hysterical wife later in the week or I break down driving when the wrong (or right) song comes on the radio.

When we found out about the cerebellar vermis, I had to leave the doctor and go to work. One of my co-workers was unfortunate enough to ask about the appointment, asking if it went well. I teared up and told her that it had not gone well. Aside from that one incident of emotion, I generally tell people about his heart, brain, and now growth in a very factual matter, because, realistically, it is just facts. Every new piece of information does not change the person Emerson already is; God formed him this way and he is made in God’s image and likeness. How can I be upset or heartbroken or disappointed or anything negative knowing that my son is God’s image and that God formed him with a plan that I could never understand?

Additionally, when I tell people, I often have to administer more care to them then they are capable of giving to me. People are so upset and concerned and worried that there really is not room for me to work through all my emotions again. And I love my son. He is perfect and he is mine, no matter what. No diagnosis will change how I feel about him. I do worry for him though. Any parent would worry about their child, especially when the situation is out of their control.

There is nothing I can do for Emerson except love him and pray for him. I cannot eat differently to increase his growth, I cannot mend his heart or have his surgery for him, and I cannot grow a new cerebellar vermis for him. In fact, it would be more harmful for me to fall into despair at every new piece of information: stress, hysteria, prolonged emotional outbreaks, etc. are not good for the fetus and can cause stress on the pregnancy. So if the only thing in my control is my emotions and stress level, obviously I am going to do what is healthy for my son and keep that all on a low-level.

I think my stress is manifesting in inappropriate ways. Example: road rage. Today I picked up my sister from school and I honked at two people (both dumb ass high school drivers who were not looking where they were going, one flicked me off  causing me to rant about how, if I didn’t want to get home so bad, I would go fight her… ridiculous). My mom would be appalled to hear this. I also ranted and raved the rest of the way home about the idiocy of high school drivers. I could punch them all in the face. Matt is afraid to let me drive now (I think he wants me to walk to work again).

Also, the worst possible thing happened at our last appointment: I was vindicated. I have compared my pregnancy with my sister’s since she is due a week after me. I decided that she was getting larger than I and kept saying that my baby stopped growing. Everyone reassured me, but HA joke’s on them: turns out his rate of growth has stopped. You never want to vindicate a Novak. Ever. but it’s done.

In other news, Matt got a seasonal position at Target, so that’s something. Matt and I went to college graduated with degrees and managed to both land minimum wage jobs working less than 40 hours a week: living the dream. I just want to tell my high school co-workers not to believe the lies they tell you. Just don’t do it. They tell you what is expected of you and it turns out it is unattainable: from college loans, to poor economy, to the “wrong” degree the world is setting us up for failure. And somehow it is “your fault” when things don’t go “according to plan”. THERE IS NO PLAN! Don’t listen to the lies and don’t buy the dream.

…oh God I’m such a hipster…

One thought on “Enter Title Here

  1. I don’t think you’re a hipster. I think you’ve just gained a tremendous amount of wisdom in the past several months. “Just don’t do it.” I hear you. The pollyannaish boosterism we encounter on an almost hourly basis in our culture wears me out. Turns out that, No, we can’t all grow up to be president. Hey, I’m just glad to be one of the few billion who happens to live in the contemporary developed world.

    Anyway, I enjoy reading your blog Maria. You’re a good and sincere writer. If you and Matt were around, I’d see if you wanted to go out to your favorite restaurant. Chicago is just a little less lively without you. But we’ll muddle through.

    Good luck in the coming weeks and months. You’re young and strong and that will make all the difference.

    -Tom

Leave a Reply

