I’m Pretty Open Minded, but Emerson is Not a Girls Name

I mean it has SON right in it. And I know it’s trendy to give people “gender neutral names” or to give girls boy names. And changing the spelling does not make it better: Emersyn, Emmerson, Emersen, etc. It still derives from EmerSON.

I guess I am just tired of correcting everyone who comes in and calls my son a girl. I get shaking up the standard and breaking down gender identity, but that’s not happening.

No, instead of not assuming a gender, people are assuming the wrong gender. And I am sure that’s not what you intended when you named your daughter Emerson.. I am sure you thought it was cute, trendy, edgy, hipster, or whatever, but you screwed my son over.

Why couldn’t you just wait to have a son to use that name? and if you only wanted x amount of children, then that’s your problem if you don’t get to use your name. There are two nurses on the floor who also have boy names as girls: a Kevyn and a RyAnne. Again, changing the spelling does not change the fact that you named your girls Kevin and Ryan.

Please please get your crazy under control. Or at least push the rest of society to move with you. I am sick of correcting people.

Like he doesn’t have enough to go through anyway.

9 thoughts on “I’m Pretty Open Minded, but Emerson is Not a Girls Name

  1. Hi there, I am a teenage male and my name Is Emerson. I completely agree with you about these parents naming their daughters Emerson. To be honest, it makes me extremely angry. All other times I’ve run into female Emerson’s they’ve have always been little girls too so its not like parents have been naming girls Emerson forever. It’s n

  2. Hi there, I am a teenage male and my name Is Emerson. I completely agree with you about these parents naming their daughters Emerson. To be honest, it makes me extremely angry. All other times I’ve run into female Emerson’s they’ve have always been little girls too so its not like parents have been naming girls Emerson forever. It’s not emerdaughter.

  3. I’m sorry for you that a lot of people out there don’t know the masculine origin behind “Emerson”. Personally, I’ve always seen Emerson as a beautiful, classic, unique boy’s name but speaking from the other side of the fence, I’ve always hated overly feminine names for girls and I find the cadence behind “Emerson” to fit my notions of a wonderfully adjusted female. I’m telling you this because I plan on naming my future daughter that. However, I would not be mad if people mistook her for a boy based on just a name–it’s really not that big of a deal. If something as trivial as that can’t be dealt with, than life must be very hard.

  4. I’m sorry for you that a lot of people out there don’t know the masculine origin behind “Emerson”. Personally, I’ve always seen Emerson as a beautiful, classic, unique boy’s name but speaking from the other side of the fence, I’ve always hated overly feminine names for girls and I find the cadence behind “Emerson” to fit my notions of a wonderfully adjusted, but too girly-girl female. I’m telling you this because I plan on naming my future daughter that. However, I would not be mad if people mistook her for a boy based on just the name–it’s really not that big of a deal. If something as trivial as that can’t be dealt with, than life must be very hard.

    1. Yeah, life is pretty hard for my son. Considering he has a congenital heart defect and has already had two open heart surgeries. So yeah when his doctors don’t know his gender it pisses me the fuck off.

      Also this blog is mostly in humor… Also I think. Emer will know he is a boy.

      1. Dear blogger,

        I’m sorry to hear about your son’s medical troubles. I personally reached your page by happen-stance when researching the name. I hope your son will be stronger by his circumstances and love his beautiful name.

Leave a Reply

