Twins diagnosed with Down Syndrome: what would you do?

I have a serious question. One that I am not trying to judge people on based on the answer. I have a true curiosity. So please don’t be offended, I am just trying to expand my understanding.

I saw an image awhile back of a child with Down Syndrome holding a sign that said “I am one of the 10% of people diagnosed with Down Syndrome who wasn’t aborted” or something along those lines. I don’t know where this fact came from, and I don’t necessarily agree with having a small child promote their parent’s political/moral/religious beliefs.

But it really got me thinking. There are a lot of twins in the world. In fact the number is increasing, now 1 in 30 babies is a twin. My question is based around that.

If you would tend to terminate a pregnancy a child (or if you prefer, fetus) diagnosed inutero with Down Syndrome, what would you do if you were carrying twins and only one was diagnosed and the other was “normal”? And what is your reasoning around it.

My curiosity is sincere, I would never use the information against you or to belittle you, I just need a better understanding. Please leave me a comment or email me your response: novaktrueblood@gmail.com

I always love to hear from everybody, writing this blog has introduced me to new perspectives and given me a lot of personal growth. I hope it continues to provide insight and new perspectives to everyone who stops by.

One thought on “Twins diagnosed with Down Syndrome: what would you do?

  1. This is tough as someone who is a twin AND works with individuals with developmental disabilities. While it is tough on siblings of kids with disabilities, they can also be a great social resource. I’d say keep them both–they are sure to be lifelong best friends!!

Leave a Reply

